An Azure service that provides access to OpenAI’s GPT-3 models with enterprise capabilities.
The current maximum retention period for prompts and completions stored for abuse monitoring human review is not stated in the provided current product documentation.
What the current documentation does confirm:
- Under standard abuse monitoring, prompts and completions can be selected for additional review when abuse indicators are detected.
- Review is automated by default, with human review used when necessary.
- For resources deployed in the European Economic Area, authorized human reviewers are located in the European Economic Area.
- If approved for Modified Abuse Monitoring, the data storage and human review process described for abuse monitoring is not performed.
What the provided material shows about the older 30-day statement:
- A Microsoft support FAQ for Ask Microsoft says Azure OpenAI stores prompts and completions for up to 30 days to monitor content and behaviors.
- Similar Microsoft Q&A answers also reference up to 30 days, but those are not the current authoritative product documentation for Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models.
- The change log shows abuse-monitoring documentation was clarified in late 2024 and expanded in 2025, but it does not provide a current retention maximum.
On Modified Abuse Monitoring eligibility, the provided official documentation confirms only that if a customer has been approved for Modified Abuse Monitoring, the abuse-monitoring data storage and human review process is not performed. The provided official documentation does not state current eligibility criteria such as managed-customer-only or specific program requirements.