Will Installing Windows 11 Pro from USB Delete My Existing Data?

MaruZavs 0 Reputation points
2026-09-05T19:39:21.2233333+00:00

I am planning to install Windows 11 Pro on the same PC that I am currently using. I have purchased a full Windows 11 Pro licence key, rather than an upgrade key.

I have been instructed to install Windows 11 using a USB drive and boot the PC from the USB to begin the installation. Before I proceed, I would like to clarify what will happen to the data that is currently on my PC.

Will booting from the USB and installing Windows 11 Pro delete or overwrite my existing files, applications, settings, and other data on the PC? I want to make sure I do not accidentally lose any of my existing data during the installation.

Could you please confirm what will happen to my current installation and data when I follow this method?

Windows for home | Windows 11 | Install and upgrade
0 comments No comments

1 answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. EmilyS726 264.5K Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2026-09-05T20:14:15.1766667+00:00

    Hello

    The instructions you referenced are for a clean install, and yes, it will wipe everything in the computer to start clean/like out of the box.

    Even if your Pro license is a full copy, not the upgrade license, and if you have Home edition now, if Home edition is already activated, and you want to preserve apps and data, you don't need to do a clean install.

    You can go to Settings > System > Activation > Change product key.

    Disconnect the internet, and disable any third-party antivirus; key in the generic key instead: VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T

    That should get you to Pro. Once restarted, you can connect back to the internet and sign into your Microsoft account. See if it is activated if it is a digital license, or enter your own Pro license key to activate. Going this route will keep everything in place.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.