Copying a link to SharePoint File

Anonymous
2024-07-12T06:07:01+00:00

When I right-click a file in a synced SharePoint File and select copy link I see

What is meant by "Use the link"? Can they open and view or open and edit it?

What is meant by People with existing access? Who are those?

Clicking on Settings reveals even less comprehensive information:

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for education | Files | Save files

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

6 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-08-13T16:04:50+00:00

    How do I "look in sharepoint"?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-07-13T05:38:45+00:00

    Yes, all members of the channel have edit access. If you look at it in SharePoint, it should have a list - but the team members might not be listed individually, only other people who have access to it.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-07-12T15:23:33+00:00

    Thanks.

    Many co-workers did not set an avatar so it is a bit guess work. I didn't explicitly share the document with others. But the document is in a file section of a closed channel. Can I assume that all members of the channel have edit access? Is there a way to just get a list of the users who have view and those who have edit access?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-07-12T15:08:45+00:00

    * What is meant by "Use the link"? Can they open and view or open and edit it? * What is meant by People with existing access? Who are those?

    1. They can open the file using the link. Editing depends on the permissions (Can view is set at the bottom so it looks like the link is only to view). They should be able to download it and edit the copy on their own computer - but it won't update your copy. If they had edit permissions, it could update your copy.
    2. People with existing access are people you shared the file with previously. Their avatars are shown there.

    -- Diane

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-07-12T07:31:34+00:00

    Thanks

    • What is meant by "Use the link"? Can they open and view or open and edit it?
    • What is meant by People with existing access? Who are those?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments