What happens if I delete a Channel on Teams

Anonymous
2021-04-12T09:04:02+00:00

Hello everyone!

Every year at my school, we get new students and new classes, so it's obvious we are going to create new Teams and Channels in Microsoft Teams.

My question is, what happens to my current Teams and Channels that I have this year? I want to keep the files of course, but I don't want to have 20 Teams and Channels showing, when I will only be active in 10 of them. 

Is there an option that allows me to hide the Teams and Channels I won't be using? Or is there a way to delete the Team and Channel but keep Assignments, Files, etc.?

Thank you in advance,

Kind regards,

Georgia

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for education | Teams and channels | Delete a team or channel

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

1 answer

Sort by: Oldest
  1. Anonymous
    2021-04-12T09:38:35+00:00

    Hi Georgia_1705,

    Thanks for your post on the community forum. I'm Nik, an independent advisor here to assist you with this.

    I'd suggest archiving the Team class after the end of the school year in MS Team instead of deleting it.

    When you delete a team, team activity in standard and private channels (and associated site collections), files, and chats is also deleted and will be available to restore within 30 days. So to keep the historical data and records, it is good to archive the Team.

    To know, how to archive teams manually, refer to this article:

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/archi...

    To know more about the difference between archive and delete, see https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams...

    Regards

    Nik

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments