Removing existing teams or channels from Microsoft Teams when no longer needed
Hi Georgia_1705,
Thanks for your post on the community forum. I'm Nik, an independent advisor here to assist you with this.
I'd suggest archiving the Team class after the end of the school year in MS Team instead of deleting it.
When you delete a team, team activity in standard and private channels (and associated site collections), files, and chats is also deleted and will be available to restore within 30 days. So to keep the historical data and records, it is good to archive the Team.
To know, how to archive teams manually, refer to this article:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/archi...
To know more about the difference between archive and delete, see https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams...
Regards
Nik